Doing and Reviewing Signups

Note: this help page is phrased with respect to the List view (i.e. 1 activity/row), except where noted.

Doing A Signup

Clicking on a Request This or an Apply for This creates a signup request. All other button labels result in the signup being completed immediately (see self-signup help for more on this).

As you enter a name to signup, matching registered people are shown (even if what you started to type was an email address). But if you are not sure you have identified the intended person, doing Search People Database might help. Conversely if the No Matches message is displayed, you can do the Register right then and there by clicking on its here link.

Unless an activity's type is Reservation, you may over-assign people to an activity/time, such as when someone "walks in" during the event and offers to help out. (Alternately, you could increase the number of spots a schedule item has by clicking on its time).

Note: In the grid and calendar layouts, the command labels are shorter. For example, "Signup for This" shrinks to "Signup".

A Person's Signup Line

If your schedule view shows signups or you click a zoom checkbox, you can examine or edit a person's signup.

A Signup Line's Links

Note: In the grid and calendar layouts, the links have been merged into the status menu. For example, the EMAIL icon becomes the SEND EMAIL menu item. Also the person's name is always the current item of the menu, and you bring up the person's registration form by selecting the REGISTRATION INFO item in the menu.

A Signup Line's Status and Position in a Schedule

  • A signup's status enables you to keep track of unapproved requests, planning progress, "walk ins" (i.e. people who show up to work without having signed up), and people who are late or fail to show. Click on its Status dropdown menu to change a signup's status. You can also use the Status menu to move a signup elsewhere in the schedule:

    Showing All of a Person's Signups in an Event

    To view all signups of a person, select Status menu->*Signups* or enter a person's name or email address into the Show One Person's Signups dynamic menu. You can also do this for everyone at once, via Signups per Person. However Signups per Person only lists the signups that each person "owns", whereas One Person's Signups lists them all (and indicates the unowned ones by appending via owner to each unowned one).

    There are two situations where a signup is associated with multiple people:

    Zooming and Colors

    When applicable, list-layout and grid-layout signup pages have a column, and each row has a zoom checkbox. Clicking on a zoom checkbox causes all signup info for that row to be displayed. An unzoomed schedule item's background is normally white. But if the item contains signups less than 24 hours old, its background color is set to light green-blue.

    Similarly when signups are shown, the rules are as follows:

    In the list layout, the highlighting is the background color of the signup. In the other layouts, it is a vertical bar to the left of the person's dropdown menu. However when calendars are color coded by who signed up, all other highlighting is suppressed to prevent the pages from being too busy.

    Fullness (i.e. n-used of n-spots) is also color coded. In the list layouts, it goes from red to orange to green as the item goes from empty to (over)full. In the grid and calendar layouts, it is simplified to black is not-full and green is (over)full.

    Status is also color coded. The name of a "minor" status (e.g. Behind) is not black. Conversely to be more visible, the background of a major status is not white. For example, the Status menu of an unapproved request has an orange background.

    Processing Signup Requests

    When someone (or you on behalf of someone) does a signup request, the created signup appears on the signup page with a status of Pending. Eventually you need to cancel the request or approve it. Before that, you can do a tentative assignment if desired — by setting Status to Ready: directly or by doing a *Move*.

    Disposition of Requests

    To cancel a request, click on its trash can. Since this is a final disposition of the request, it triggers a Disapproval notification message (if you set this up).

    Approval of a request is a final disposition of the request. Therefore it triggers an Approval notification message (if you set this up). To approve a single request, set its status to *Approve*. To simultaneously approve all ready requests in all schedules of an event, move the mouse over the middle MORE menu and select Approve All Ready Requests. (By the way, if there is a Ready request you are not ready to approve, simply change its status back to Pending before doing the Approve All).

    Approval Workflow

    To approve a plain request, you can just select *Approve*. You can also use the 2-phase approach required for category requests, if you want to play around with your assignments before making them official.

    The 2-Phase Approach

    Do tentative assignments via *Move*. (Note that moved requests are given a status of Ready). When you are satisfied with all of the tentative assignments, do an Approve All to make them visible to your users.

    A category request is normally moved to one of its specific schedule items (i.e. a schedule item whose name includes a Location, and has the same Base Name and when-info as the category schedule item). Therefore these items are highlighted by having a PUT HERE button. (You can also move a request elsewhere by clicking on a Repurpose button, but normally you would only do this after consulting with the user).

    Playing with Assignments in Private

    1. When enough requests are in, set Event Stage back to development. (This enables you to do tentative assignments privately because it hides the self-signup schedule and any unapproved requests in Self-Signup Home's Your-Signups table).
    2. If you want, announce that you are processing all requests now.
    3. After you are satisfied with the assignments you did and approved them all, set Event Stage back to Published (or to Signups Over).